Broken Rice with BBQ Pork

For the first entry, I really want to introduce my most favorite dish called “Cơm tấm” in Vietnamese. “Cơm tấm” is cooked from broken rice and served with B.B.Q Pork, fried or steamed egg, skin pork, several side dishes and fish sauce. In Vietnam, people can only eat it in my city, Saigon. Whenever I go back there, I always eat it everyday in the morning. Everybody may wonder why I eat rice in the morning. It is our tradition and this special dish is actually cooked for breakfast. Vietnamese says that for the breakfast, you have to eat as a king. This means you have to eat enough nutrition, so that you can work effectively for the whole day.

In San Francisco, there is no restaurant, which serves this dish well. I only know one vietnamese restaurant in San Jose where I can have my favorite dish with the original taste from Saigon.

If you are in San Francisco and wanna try Broken Rice, feel free to send me message. Let’s enjoy the special Vietnamese food together.

One Response to “Broken Rice with BBQ Pork”

  1. YUM! I’m hungry now and ready to try this. I love vietnamese food and hope to travel there someday.

Leave a comment